Well, Here Goes Nothing

I’ve always wanted to do this, to create a blog, but when I would try writing daily in a journal, it wouldn’t work out so well. I thought that if I couldn’t even do that, how would I write something to share with the whole world?* However, I love writing and a blog is just what I need to indulge in something I’ve stopped paying attention to.

In high school, I took three years of Honors / AP English because it was my favorite subject. Sophomore year I had a teacher named Mrs. Byrne. I immediately liked her because you could tell that she really enjoyed her job. Throughout the year, it became more clear that she truly cared for her students. At that time, I was going through a lot. My grandmother had been diagnosed with breast cancer months before and my whole family was affected by her going through chemo. Because of this, I was too emotionally drained to even focus on work and it clearly impacted my work and my writing. Mrs. Byrne knew the situation and told me to not let it get the best of me. She constantly gave me advice on how to better my writing. Towards the end of the year, I wrote the best essay I’ve written my entire high school career. Mrs. Byrne’s reaction to that essay was everything I needed to feel like everything would be okay and just because things weren’t the best, that doesn’t mean they’ll always stay that way.

Throughout my last two years of high school, I would occasionally see Mrs. Byrne in the hallways and she would always say hi to me and ask how I was doing. I was shocked she even remembered who I was, let alone be so kind to me. Many days when I wasn’t in the best mood, her showing that she still cares about me really made my day.

Two days ago, I found out that Mrs. Byrne had passed. It was such a surprise to me that I just didn’t believe it. I immediately hated myself for not having a chance to tell her how much I appreciated everything she had done for me. Soon after finding out, I began to see all the posts from her other former students on Facebook. So many of her students had a similar experience with her that I had. Almost every single post I saw included the word “inspiration.” Everyone talked about her impact on their high school career and praised her for her numerous acts of kindness. It was so touching to see my high school come together and remember a beautiful and lovely soul.

Mrs. Byrne taught me to not let anything stop me from doing the things I want to do and that’s just what I’m going to do. Here’s to you, Mrs. Byrne. Thank you.

*Not like the whole world is reading, but ya’ know.

Leave a Reply

