I’m Back and I Don’t Care

Long time no see, WordPress.

I knew this was going to happen, it always does. I only write things with the intention of others seeing it. I don’t focus on how I feel, but how someone else would feel if they somehow found my notebook and read it. I’ve realized I don’t write as much when I do that. If I have any idea, I won’t work on it because I don’t think anybody would find it interesting. And that’s bullshit, if you ask me. So, from now on, this is my blog and I’ll write about what I want.

I think this should be a good way for me to start a new series, How To Make Work Suck Less. Here I’ll be writing about the things I did this week, to distract myself from work.

Enjoy, self!


HOW TO MAKE WORK SUCK LESS – EPISODE 1

I’ve recently switched from a comfortable, choose-your-own-hours job to a full-time office job. It pains me to say it because ever since I was a little kid, I knew I never wanted to be the type to sit in an office all day and hate everything, and yet, here I am. It really takes a toll on my sanity, and because of that I’ve tried to find things to do during my downtime at work to make me a happy human again.

WEEK ONE’S DISTRACTIONS:

  • Watch Netflix when/if you can. If you’re alone in your office for just 23 minutes, watch an episode of your favorite TV show. I’ve begun re-watching The Office and that definitely makes me feel better. This is cheesy but that show just makes me so happy.
  • Subscribe to lovely email newsletters such as Lenny. You get an email sent directly to you, twice a week, talking about work, love, feminism, art, and everything else in the world that is inspiring. The best part is, it’s all written by talented and incredible women!
  • Download some free games/apps on your work computer so during your lunch (or when nobody’s looking) pass a few levels on Candy Crush.
  • Make a playlist of music specifically for while you’re at work. I’ve found that the Dirty Dancing soundtrack really helps me get work done. I guess I just need to be reminded that nobody (especially Baby) should be stuck in a corner all day.

That’s all I have for this week, but next week I’ll have more ways to make sure work sucks just a little bit less for all of us.

Thank you and happy working!

One thought on “I’m Back and I Don’t Care

Leave a Reply

