How To Make Work Suck Less – Episode 3

So, this episode is gonna be a little different. The reason being that I recently found out I’m losing my job! (I’ll probably make another post about this specifically later because it is a doozie of a story.) Because of that, this episode includes things that people who are soon to be broke do, so I hope this doesn’t affect you.

With that being said, here’s the newest episode.


HOW TO MAKE WORK SUCK LESS – EPISODE 3

For me, this week’s focus has mainly been on how to survive being (pre)fired and what to do next. That included everything from how to fix my resume to what music makes me dance and forget all my problems. Spoiler: it’s catchy pop songs. Even if you have a stable job, this episode includes fun things you can do at work.

WEEK THREE’S DISTRACTIONS:

  • So normally the first thing you do when you find out your safe, shitty job is soon no longer available for you, is freak out. If you’re an emotional person like me, you cry to everyone, for hours, about everything. What you should do is realize your situation sucks but you can get through it. I realized that thanks to my lovely girlfriend who practically yells that at me as soon as I start welling up.
  • After you realize that, pull up your resume that probably hasn’t been updated in years and read it over. Mine sucks. I have about five different versions and they all are awful. If you’re in the same situation as me, you can literally Google it and there will be hundreds of websites and templates to create it for you. Or you can be like me and send it to your grandma and have her fix it for you.
  • After you fix your resume to make you look like the best version of yourself, apply everywhere. Everywhere. Honestly, just good luck.
  • To take a break from losing your mind, put on a dance-y playlist and get some actual work done. Lately I’ve been obsessed with Ellie Goulding’s song “On My Mind.” I don’t like Ellie’s music at all but this song is so damn catchy that I can’t help but listen to it 7 times in a row. Also, Weezer. I love their popular songs and only those ones. “Buddy Holly” and “Say It Ain’t So,” yes please.
  • A while back, I discovered the Bechdel test. If you don’t know what that is, essentially it’s a rule/test created based on the comic by Alison Bechdel (shown below). A wonderful person created a website where people can submit movies and say if they passed the test. It’s kinda fun to go through all your favorite movies and see how sexist they are! It actually gets me very furious and slightly inspired to make a great movie with tons of chicks. Anyway, if you got some hours to spend and you’d like to destroy all your favorite childhood movies, check it out. 1397757151test
  • I sure hope everyone (all 3 of you) reading this knows who Abbi Jacobson and Ilana Glazer are. If you don’t, they are two brilliant comedians who have a show on Comedy Central called Broad City, which is based on their webseries of the same name. I’ve loved them for years but lately I’ve fallen in love again. I started rewatching their shows and I wholeheartedly recommend watching it. It’s truly the best. Also, a new season is set to be premiering in January, score!

That’s it for this week. I hope you’re not going through the same job situation as me, if you are though, I hope this helps.

Happy working!

Leave a Reply

