Apologies, Excuses and Cheesy Love Stories

Ok, I know, I’m the worst. I said I would keep my How To Make Work Suck Less series going, but I mean, it’s pretty hard to keep complaining about work if you don’t have a job. On second thought, maybe not. Regardless, the series will be on a hiatus. I’m sorry!

Because of the dwindling life of my current career, I haven’t been that concerned with being very present. As much as I don’t want to work there, it’s still very frustrating that my bosses haven’t really communicated what I can expect. So naturally, I told them that I had to be out of town for six days (three days one week, three the next) because of a funeral, which is roughly 5% true. Honestly, I only had to take one day off of work but being a Disney Annual Passholder has changed me. I decided to exaggerate just the slightest bit and take my girlfriend on a vay-gay vacay.

Before I knew I was going to get a huge pay cut, I surprised my girlfriend with very expensive passes for the both of us so I could plan a nice trip for ourselves. After I found out about the financial sabotage from a dear family member, I freaked out about future debt and decided the only thing to do is to go to Disneyland as much as possible.

The first three days of the emotional healing pilgrimage that I told my bosses I would be on, Brooke and I stayed at her sister’s house and went to Disney a few days. It was incredible to see the difference between Disneyland during the week rather than during the weekend. It was so much calmer and we could actually walk through Main St.

This week, the final three days, we’re back in Anaheim for our 6 month anniversary! Which is a big deal! Months ago, I tried to plan this huge trip for the two of us to re-live some of our greatest memories together and keep it all a surprise. It did not go well. Brooke found out, I told her everything, there was a lot of crying and stressful realizations of how I will not be able to afford this trip. Because of that, we minimized the plan just a bit.

The first thing we did was go to Largo at the Coronet (where we saw Bo Burnham months earlier) to see Sarah Silverman’s popular “Sarah and Friends” show. The fun part of about these shows is all the supporting acts are surprises to the audience, which could be a good thing or a bad thing.

IMG_0520

Brooke with Sarah’s poster at Largo

This time around, one of the guests was the lovely Margaret Cho. Her performance was incredible and not expected at all. Luckily, Brooke is a huge fan of hers and was blown away by seeing her just as much as I was. After the show, we ran into Margaret and Brooke got to have a nice conversation with her. Brooke told her that she looks up to her a lot and initially wanted to do comedy because of her, to which Margaret said “I’ll see you out there.” I mean, how lovely.

We did get to meet and take pictures with Sarah too. 

Afterwards, we drove to Anaheim to check into the hotel we have booked for the rest of the week. All we have planned for the duration of our trip is Disney, Disney, Disney. However, the day of our anniversary, we just stayed at the hotel all day. The cool thing about us and one of the reasons I know we’re so perfect together is that we can sit in total silence with each of us doing our own thing and not be bothered by it at all. That’s love to me. It feels so amazing to be able to experience it with someone, especially someone that’s my best friend.

IMG_0522

Us posing weirdly in the bathroom of the classiest mall I’ve ever been to

Long story short, I’ve always longed for an intimate and deeply committed relationship. My favorite films were and are cheesy romantic comedies (I refuse to call them rom coms) and I cry just thinking about Jim and Pam from The Office. I’ve always wanted that. It took some time for me to experience love but I finally have it and it’s the BEST.


UPDATE:

I wrote this while Brooke and I were still in Anaheim at the hotel, but I’m posting this after we’ve been back home.

Since it’s Thanksgiving today, we’re going to dinner with our families and then off to Black Friday. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

